The desire for God is written in the human heart, because

man is created by God and for God; and God never ceases to

draw man to himself.  Only in God will he find the truth and

happiness he never stops searching for…

Catechism of the Catholic Church

We have a Parochial school in our town that goes through the 8th grade.  After that, the kids move on to the public High School.  However, their religious education does not stop there.  They are to enroll in the CCD program for 9th, 10th and 11th grades.  Our kids are confirmed in the 11th grade and they do not attend CCD in 12th grade.

When our oldest son, Alexander, started his freshman year of high school, I was not prepared spiritually to teach him and his peers about our faith.  I felt no calling to serve our church in this way.

God has been working on me.

This year, our oldest daughter, Amelia, started her freshman year and her first year of CCD.  This time around I felt called.  I gave my name and phone number to the coordinator and was assigned a group of eight 14 and 15 year olds.  They come into our home every Wednesday night to talk about God, the Bible and their Catholic Faith.

This is a tough age.  These kids are busy.  Homework.  Sports.  Band.  Friends.  Family dynamics.  Their thoughts are elsewhere, I know that.  It can be frustrating trying to teach them about our faith when I know it is not high on their priority list.  Sometimes I want to give up.

I read this passage in the Catechism this past weekend.  “The desire for God is written in the human heart…”  Even the teenage heart.  I cannot give up.

I pray for these kids.  Hard.  I pray that they can open up to the desire for God that is written in their heart.

Do you teach a CCD class?  Have you ever taught teenagers about the faith?  How were you able to communicate with them about this desire for God?

Peace,

Wendy

